in , ,

A Beginner’s Guide to The 7 Chakras

The seven “Chakras” are the wheels of energy in our body. These energy points also known as life force, or prana, are spinning and rotating freely in healthy individuals. The energy wheel within our body must remain open and flow freely as they are aligned to the nerves, organs and other important centers in the body, affecting physical and emotional well-being.

Human body has seven main chakras that are located along the spine. Each of the energy wheels are coded in terms of name, number, colour and their specific location in the spinal cord, as well as the health aspects they control. When the chakras are open there is free flow of energy through them, creating harmony between the body, mind and soul.

What are the seven chakras?

Ancient Indian scripts refer to over 114 different chakras, but humans are affected mainly by 7 chakras running from the base of the spine to the crown of our head.

Here’s a brief on the 7 main chakras.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra is the foundation of our life force. In humans it’s located at the base of the spinal cord and plays an important role in keeping us calm, secure and grounded in reality. Free flow of energy through the root chakra gives us confidence to face challenges. A well-aligned root chakra is vital while pursuing major goals. Any blockage of the root chakra gives a feeling of being in unstable ground. The root chakra gets blocked when the basic survival need (for food, shelter or safety) is threatened. Even a thought of a threat to the basic survival need (even if there is no actual threat), may undermine the alignment of the root chakra.  

  • Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
  • Regulates: Basic survival needs like food, shelter, security and financial comfort
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Develops: Early years of childhood between 1-7 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Hematite

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is the guiding force in all your creative pursuits, and supports the ability to adjust to changes in all aspects of life. Located in the abdomen, just two inches below the belly button, the sacral chakra also governs your emotions and sexual energy. Blockage of this chakra leads to feelings of loss of control. It gets blocked due to negative feedback, making you doubtful of your creative abilities. People experiencing dissatisfaction in a relationship or stressed about their own sexuality are likely to have blocked sacral chakra. Misaligned sacral chakra is manifested in the form of shopping addiction, gambling and eating problems.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, 2 inches below the belly button
  • Regulates: Well-being, sense of fulfilment, and sexuality
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Develops: Around childhood & early teens between 8-14 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Tiger’s Eye

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra, also known as the personal power chakra, affect a person’s self-esteem, willpower and independence. Free-flowing energy through the solar plexus chakra gives you confidence and a feeling of being in control of life. It gives you the ability to express yourself freely, which is essential for success. People with blocked solar plexus chakra have an overwhelming sense of shame and feel doubtful about their own capabilities. Alignment of this chakra gets affected due to perceived failure, hostile social interaction and low self-worth developed during childhood. Digestive issues and memory problems are manifestation of blocked solar plexus chakra.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
  • Regulates: Self-worth and confidence
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Develops: Around teenage between 15-21 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Amber

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is the bridge between the mind, body and spirit. It affects your capacity to love and be compassionate to others and ourselves. People with balanced heart chakra are open to emotions, empathetic and enjoy inner peace. It provides emotional fulfilment, while giving us insight into our feelings at a cognitive level. The heart chakra gets blocked due to negative experiences related to love, for example a breakup, grief associated to death, problems in friendship or even a cruel episode. Physical manifestation of blocked heart chakra is restlessness, high blood pressure and low immunity.

  • Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
  • Regulates: Love, compassion and inner peace
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Develops: Around young adulthood between 21-28 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Rose Quartz

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra is associated with the ability to communicate accurately. Free flow of energy through the throat chakra enables you to speak forthright, without being offensive. Ability to communicate with directness, honesty and conviction is a reflection of well-aligned throat chakra. A disbalanced throat chakra may be an outcome of bad experience during a significant communication session leading to heated arguments or a difficult job interview. People with blocked throat chakra will have trouble expressing themselves in words. Neck pain, hormonal fluctuations and throat discomfort are some physical signs of disturbed throat chakra.

  • Location: The throat
  • Regulates: Communication
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Ether/Sound
  • Develops: Around 29-35 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Aquamarine, Lapis lazuli

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra supports the intuitive power and helps us to see the larger picture. It’s a powerful energy source connecting to the gut instinct, which aids in reaching important goals. An open third-eye chakra provides visions and intuitive actions that lead to successes. It facilitates close alignment with the universe, advancing towards a communion with the divine being. The third-eye chakra gets blocked if you use rationality over intuition, or if someone makes you doubtful about your larger purpose in life. Sleep problems, feelings of clumsiness and difficulties in learning new things are indicative of blocked third-eye chakra.

  • Location: Center of the brow, between the eyes
  • Regulates: Intuition and imagination
  • Color: Indigo
  • Element: Light
  • Develops: Around 36-42 years of age
  • Healing Stone: Amethyst

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Crown chakra is the gateway to achieve higher consciousness. The highest chakra in human body provides spiritual connection, effectively creating a fulfilling life and inner peace. Well-aligned crown chakra offers profound joy in life, and unravels the true meaning of existence. Crown chakra can be blocked by a traumatic experience in life, causing self-doubt about one’s purpose of life. Crown chakra is also called the “thousand petal lotus” chakra as it makes life meaningful.

  • Location: Top of the head
  • Regulates: Spirituality
  • Color: Violet/White
  • Element: Divine Consciousness
  • Healing Stone: Clear quartz

Develops: Around 43-49 years of age The chakras are distinct centers of energy with specific properties, but they work in harmony as a system. Blockage of any one of the chakras will have an effect on other chakras, which is normal. Experienced yoga teachers or healers can work through blocked chakras to enable free-flow of energy, restoring good health and overall wellness.

Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *